Hump Day Bump Day: 37 Weeks!

Your baby is now considered “full term,” even though your due date is three weeks away. If you go into labor now, his lungs will likely be mature enough to fully adjust to life outside the womb. (Some babies need a bit more time, though. So if you’re planning to have a repeat c-section, for example, your practitioner will schedule it for no earlier than 39 weeks unless there’s a medical reason to intervene earlier.)
Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel. Many babies have a full head of hair at birth, with locks from 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inches long. But don’t be surprised if your baby’s hair isn’t the same color as yours. Dark-haired couples are sometimes thrown for a loop when their children come out as blonds or redheads, and fair-haired couples have been surprised by Elvis look-alikes. And then, of course, some babies sport only peach fuzz.
I actually got a lot done this weekend! Not quite everything that I wanted to get done, but I feel accomplished! I got my hair cut, there are now 2 Car Seats installed in my car, a cosleeper in my room, and the c-section has been officially scheduled! There’s also a swing and some tummy time mats in my house (as of last night) but I need to wash all of that before I consider it ready to go. Now, if we could just get the dresser put together so I’d have someplace to put all of these clothes, I would be one VERY happy lady! =)
On Sunday morning I went in to get Ella and she tells me “Want to go to Dr. hear baby Aubrey’s heart beat” so she was quite excited when I told her that was what we were doing the next day. Then at the appointment she was so excited when the heartbeat came over the doppler, there was this large intake of breath and she says “I love it!” OMG, that child kills me.
How Far Along: 37 Weeks! Full Term!!
Total Weight Gain: Down 1/2 a lb from last week so back to 29 total!
Sleep: Not too horrible lately! Thank goodness, I am so exhausted by the end of the day that I’m actually able to sleep!
Stretch Marks: Still now new ones, but the ones from Ella are starting to get darker again! Boo!
Best Moment This Week: By far it was Ella’s reaction to hearing the heart beat again! Also, my BP is staying WAY low this time! This week it was 94/60. Insane! I guess bed rest with Ella was for the best, who knows how high it would have gone!
Movement: Oh yes, this little one still moves ALL the time!
Food Cravings: Iced Chai, Steak N Shake, and a chocolate frosted cream filled donut from Crescent! (Mom, you think you can get one in to your packed luggage where it won’t get squished?!) =)
Gender: A Princess!
Labor Signs: None this week, a couple BH’s here and there but nothing like last Monday and Tuesday!
Belly Button: Still a top half outtie bottom half flattie. =)
What I Miss: Not a thing!
What I’m Looking Forward To: Holding my new little girl in my arms and seeing Ella’s face when she meets her baby sister!
Weekly Wisdom: Not feeling too wise today. Haha!
37 Week Bump!

Leave a Reply

