Hump Day Bump Day: 36 Weeks

Your baby is still packing on the pounds — at the rate of about an ounce a day. She now weighs almost 6 pounds and is more than 18 1/2 inches long. She’s shedding most of the downy covering of hair that covered her body as well as the vernix caseosa, the waxy substance that covered and protected her skin during her nine-month amniotic bath. Your baby swallows both of these substances, along with other secretions, resulting in a blackish mixture, called meconium, will form the contents of her first bowel movement. At the end of this week, your baby will be considered full-term!
So I had my appointment on Monday and it sounds like we are good to go on February 3rd at 7:30 in the morning! That is, if I don’t go in to labor on my own before then. I thought this was mildly impossible with Ella being late, that I would go earlier than 39 weeks 2 days but then I left my appointment and have been having braxton hicks contractions all day since then. I’ve only had a couple this morning, thank goodness, because by the end of the day yesterday they were getting painful just from having them all day long! When I talked to my Dr. on Monday I told him I’d been having a few here and there if I had overdone it cleaning or bending over to get things and I was informed that being almost 36 weeks if I did go in to labor they wouldn’t try to stop it, we’d just head to the hospital and do the C-section. So, cue ridiculous number of contractions for 2 days straight. Haha
It finally seems to have gotten the hint that it’s winter here in the mountains of Colorado. There were about 8 inches outside when I woke up this morning (of course CDOT wasn’t doing their jobs and the roads weren’t plowed, miserable drive to work this morning!) and it’s still puking out there, there’s about 3 inches on my car and it’s only been parked outside for 2 hours. Fun stuff!
We had some friends up this weekend from Denver so I got nothing done that I wanted to. Plus cue them taking my husband to the bar and there was no way I could get anything done taking care of Ella at night, and not being able to climb a ladder to get to our storage loft to get stuff down. So, now I feel very behind, he’s been warned that this was it for the fun weekends, that the next few are going to be BUSY! Especially since now we have to throw my weekly appointments in there.
How Far Along: 36 Weeks
Total Weight Gain: up 1/2 a lb from last week (YES!!!) so 29.5 total
Sleep: Argh, if I see the 3 O’clock hour several times like this morning again, I’m going to scream! I can usually fall asleep in between my hourly wakings but not today (Gotta love the insomnia!)
Stretch Marks: Still no new ones, yay!
Best Moment This Week: Getting my C-section officially scheduled and getting to feel this new life moving around every day. And, getting to play in the snow with Ella, she has SO much fun!
Movement: Oh yes, I think it sets off some of these contractions.
Food Cravings: Iced Chai
Gender: A precious little girl!
Labor Signs: BH’s turning to mildly painful contractions by the end of the day! Hopefully they settle soon!
Belly Button: Top half is an outtie, bottom half is holding flat!
What I Miss: nothing, I love pregnancy!
What I’m looking forward to: Having my little family together! I cannot wait to see Ella the first time she meets her baby sister!
Weekly Wisdom: Do NOT expect things to go the same way the 2nd time around.
36 Week Belly Pics!

As you can see, my shirts are getting a little small to contain the belly. Since I only have 3 weeks and 2 days left to go (at the most!) I will not be buying any size larges, so everyone will have to deal with a little bit of maternity pant for the next couple weeks. Ha!

Leave a Reply

