Hump Day Bump Day: 29 Weeks!

Your baby is growing rapidly now. This week she weighs about 2 1/2 pounds and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. Her muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and her head is getting bigger to accommodate her growing brain – which is busy developing billions of neurons. Every day, about 200 milligrams of calcium is deposited in your baby’s skeleton, which is now hardening. With this rapid growth, it’s no surprise that your baby’s nutritional needs reach their peak during this trimester.
So, yesterday was my 3 hour Glucose Tolerance Test. Can I just say that 1.) I hope to NEVER have to go through anything like that again. and 2.) I could NEVER be a closet Junkie. Haha, check out the aftermath, we’ll start with righty, the “good” looking arm.

Yep, minimal bruising on righty because she only took 1 draw from there (story to follow) and here is lefty, after 3 draws and a blown vein!

Oh yeah! That’s sexy! So, I get to my Dr.’s office bright and early at 8 AM (I did get to watch a GORGEOUS sunrise on my way over the pass though! And I saw a huge heard of elk right off the road) and we got the party started right away, draw #1 out of the left arm (my usually good arm) and then I drank the double strong disgusting drink! For the next hour I felt nauseous and light headed, not fun. Draw #2, right arm, after having the tunicate on my arm for a couple minutes and poking the heck out of it, she finally felt a vein plump, well, she missed and had to dig to hit it. Ouch! Draw #3, a vein just to the right of the initial draw, kind of stung a little since it was so close to the first draw location but everything was fine, until it blew out the vein! At least she got enough blood first. Hour 3 and draw #4 are approcahing, she has me go run my hands under hot water for 5 minutes to see if we can get the veins on the back of my hands to plump up enough to draw from one of those. No dice! So, tunicate goes back on to righty, after 5 solid minutes of poking and feeling around for veins she can’t find anything, so what happens, she draws from the original vein! OMG, I thought I was going to cry. Not only was that specific vein sore from the first draw, I had a blown vein like a mm away from it. But, thankfully that was the last one, and she gave me a bunch of free schwag to make up for the miserable experience. Haha.
After that though, I had my normal appointment and it went very well. I only failed the 1 hour test by 3 freaking points! You had to be UNDER 140 and I was at 142. Blah! I met with a Dr. who is new to the practice and I LOVED her, she is so personable and I loved her bed side manner. I know for a fact that all of her afternoon appointments were cancelled due to a migraine that she had (I was sitting there when they made the calls to reschedule) but she was friendly, and happy, and took the time to talk to me about my history even though she wasn’t feeling well. She said that at my 34 week appointment we would schedule my C-section with whichever Dr. we preferred (Um, you please!) and would schedule it for 39 weeks (Mom, that means February 1st, start looking for tickets!). Little Baby Girls heart rate was in the 140’s and she was measuring right on track. I have had no excessive or speedy weight gain, so hopefully this is all a good sign that I will pass my 3 hour test. Fingers crossed! I should find out this afternoon or tomorrow during the day (the Dr. I met with yesterday is the On-Call doc for Thanksgiving and she said she WOULD call on Thanksgiving if I hadn’t heard from anyone yet.) So yes, good appointment, just a rough 3 hour wait leading up to it. =)

How Far Along: 29 Weeks
Total weight gain: 20 lbs! Yep, I only gained 1 lb in 3 weeks! Score!
Maternity Clothes: That’s a given
Sleep: Miserable! I’m wide awake by 3 every morning
Stretch Marks: No newbies, thank goodness!
Best Moment this week: Taking Ella to meet Alicia’s new baby, Kai. And seeing how much she LOVED the baby! She stood in front of his swing while he was sleeping and just stared and giggled.
Movement: All the time!
Food Cravings: Still Cherry Coke, weird! It has to be from the fountain thoug. And now I’m going nuts for food tomorrow! =)
Gender: Precious Baby Girl!
Labor Signs: A few Braxton Hicks here and there, but nothing real.
Belly button: It depends on what I’m doing, sometiems it’s flat, sometimes it’s an outtie.
What I Miss: Not a thing! I love being pregnant! It’s so amazing knowing that you’re growing a life inside of you! Love it!
What I’m Looking Forward To: Being a family of 4. And in the more immediate future, Kati and Black Friday Shopping followed by Breaking Dawn!
Weekly Wisdom: Not Feeling too wise today, just Thankful for all I’ve been given in life.

29 Week Belly Pic:

And, since she’s just too darn cute for words, here’s a blury phone pic of Ella wandering around in my shoes this weekend.
She’s just too darn fast to be able to get non blurry phone pics anymore. Haha’

I hope everyone has an amazing and blessed Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

