Hump Day Bump Day: 24 Weeks

Before I get to my normal Hump Day Bump Day post, I want to talk about something that happened this weekend that has left me feeling as if someone has kicked me in the gut and left the wind knocked out of me.
A man who died too young; Dan Wheldon 1978-2011.
Sunday was the final race for the Indy Car series and at 12 laps in I got a text message from my husband reading “Bad, bad, bad wreck. 15 Cars”. 6 minutes later I got another text message from him “Dan’s hurt bad!” I immediately called him even though I was driving to ask if he was dead. Those who know me know that Dan is my driver, we have met several times and he is one of the nicest, most sincere people that I have EVER had the pleasure of meeting. At the time, he was not, but after a couple of hours he was pronounced dead. After seeing the replay it’s no surprise why, it was horrible. The ironic part is that this was Dan’s 3rd race of the season as he had been the test driver for the newer, SAFER, 2012 Indy Cars.
He left behind his wife, their 2 1/2 year old son, and their 7 month old son. How do you tell a 2 1/2 year old that their Daddy isn’t coming home? When they announced his death, I sat on the floor, at my birthday party, and cried. I called Brad and the first thing out of my mouth was “But, he has 2 little boys.” A few minutes later I heard Ella waking up from her nap. I went in to get her and was still crying, the first thing out of her mouth was, “Mommy Sad?!”. It is heart breaking, he was an amazing Man and he will be missed by me and many other people. Please play for strength for his family to get through this as his time came too soon.

 And here is a picture from the first time I met him. He had just won the race and it had started raining, he made the announcement that he would be signing autographs for all of the kids first, since they were what it was all about.

24 Weeks Pregnant
Drink up! Around 24 weeks, your doctor will order a Glucose Tolerance Test — one of the more memorable prenatal tests — to see if you’re at risk for gestational diabetes. Basically, the test is designed to see how your body processes sugar, so you’ll be asked to drink a cup of a sweet drink called Glucola (which reminded us of Gatorade) and then hang out for an hour. Once the hour is up, you’ll have your blood drawn and then it will be tested to see how your body has processed the sugar. You know what’s also sweet? Those movements and kicks you’ve been feeling. They seem to get stronger every week. At week 24, baby’s progress isn’t just about internal stuff, it’s about her looks too. With pinker, more opaque skin, she’s looking more and more, well, like a baby. You, on the other hand, are probably experiencing some of the discomforts of the later months of pregnancy at week 24 — leg cramps, backaches, swollen feet. Hang in there, mama-to-be! Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts her at just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop. Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help her air sacs inflate once she hits the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.
For the most part this was a good week, aside from Sunday evening. We got to spend a lot of time with family and we took Ella to the Pumpkin Patch on Sunday during the day which she LOVED! Monday was my birthday, the big 2-9! Next year it’s the Dirty 30 for me! I do believe that going home for my birthday is now forever cursed. 2 Years ago I went home for my birthday and Brad called to tell me that Jeremy had passed away on October 15th. Last year we went home a week after my birthday and no one died, this year back for my birthday weekend and Dan dies. So now the 2 days leading up to my birthday are forever tainted for me. Blah!

How Far Along: 24 Weeks! And as of today, if lord forbid anything were to happen, Aubrey would be viable and Dr.’s would do everything they could to save her!
Total Weight Gain: not sure, I find out next week at my appointment, not looking forward to it though as I just ate everything in sight while we were back around the amazing restaurants in Bloomington!
Maternity clothes: Oh yes
Sleep: It’s been better, Ella was up at the crack of dawn every day we were home!
Stretch Marks: No new ones yet.
Best Moment This Week: Seeing Family
Movement: Every day, my youngest sister Sara got to feel her kick while we were home. (Sorry Faythe!)
Food Cravings: Boneless Spare Ribs. Haha!
Gender: A Precious Baby Girl!
Labor Signs: Nope, thank goodness!
Belly Button: In, but getting more shallow every day!
What I Miss: Not being able to see Dan Wheldon race ever again.
What I’m looking forward to: Well, today for starters, it’s viability day! And I have my next appointment next Wednesday! It’s been way too long!
Weekly Wisdom: You never know how things can change until it’s happened in an instant! Cherish those that you love and hug your babies a little tighter tonight!

Belly Pic:

2 thoughts on “Hump Day Bump Day: 24 Weeks

  1. I'm sorry your feeling his family's pain! But that shows what a caring person you are! I too can't imagine telling a child their Daddy isn't coming home. Terrible.On a happier note, you look amazing! love your bump!

Leave a Reply

