Hump Day Bump Day: 20 Weeks! (Plus 1 day!)

Your Baby: Week 20

Baby’s digestive system is busy creating meconium (a tarry black substance made of swallowed amniotic fluid, digestive secretion and dead cells), which will fill the first diaper after birth. And, speaking of the diaper situation… baby’s genitals are now fully formed!
You’re at the halfway mark ā€” congratulations! Your baby weighs about 10 1/2 ounces now. He’s also around 6 1/2 inches long from head to bottom and about 10 inches from head to heel. (The way your baby is measured changes now.)

Yesterday was our 20 appointment and it was an AMAZING day! I guess our biggest announcement from the day is that were are having a GIRL! Ella called it!
Our appointment was awesome, we only had to wait a couple of minutes and went right back to the ultrasound room. The Dr. came right in and got to work. The very first thing that popped up on the screen was the “Money shot”. We were asked if we wanted to know the gender and we both said yes while Ella yelled “SISTER!”, he said he wanted to take some measurements first but that we’d look at genitals more closely in a minute. I already knew, there was nothing there, it was a girl. =)
The ultrasound seemed to just keep going we got to see both hemispheres of her brain and Dr. F pointed out all of the different parts of the brain saying it was perfect. We got to see all 4 chambers of her little heart, and that it was clearly a 3 vessel cord. We watched her play with the umbilical cord (no wonder I feel so much movement in there, kid was going crazy!) and then he went back for gender determination. It is insane how much clearer everything is on the new equipment they have. We got 2 pictures of the very distinct 3 lines that indicate a little girl. It was crazy. Dr. F said “You absolutely have another little girl coming”, Brad exclaimed “I knew it” and Ella just kept saying “Sister! Sister!” It was great. This little one weighed in at 11 Oz, a full ounce larger then Ella was at this same appointment.
I have to say, I want a little boy and I was a little sad since Brad is saying he’s only up for 2 (yeah, we had decided on 3 but then when I got pregnant with the 2nd one, he said only 2. Butthead!) I’m holding out hope though, that maybe in a couple more years he’ll decide he’d like to try for a little boy also, then we’ll just have to try to time things better. We’ll see, only God knows what’s in store for our family.
The car hunting didn’t go so well, I think my husband is mildly bipolar about some things. I’ll leave it at that. Ha!
I have to add in, this morning when I dropped Ella off at school this morning she told her favorite teacher that she was going to have a little sister. It was adorable. An hour or so later I got an e-mail from the Director of the daycare and it said, “Rachel. you would die of cuteness. Ella is telling EVERYONE about ‘My Little Sister’, to teachers, other kids, everyone. It is adorable.” I cried! haha, that little girl is so sweet!

How Far Along: 20 Weeks 1 Day
Total Weight Gain: up 9 lbs! Time to get back in to doing my prenatal exercise, don’t want to gain 40 lbs like with Ella!
Maternity clothes: I made the switch!
Sleep: Blah! I have a hard time falling asleep, and then I have a hard time staying asleep. Rinse & Repeat.
Best Moment of the Week: Ella’s reaction to finding out she was having a Sister, she was absolutely elated!
Movement: All the time!
Food Cravings: Nothing really noteable this week.
Gender: An amazing little girl! Now we just need to name her!
Labor Signs: Nope
Belly Button; In or Out: In
What I miss: Nothing really, I LOVE being pregnant
What I’m Looking Forward To: Ella having a sister! My Sisters are some of my best friends and I’m SO happy Ella gets to have that!
Weekly Wisdom: I am so not feeling wise today!

No Belly pics today. I got back and first of all, there was no mirror. Turns out one of the guys was standing on the counter where the mirror lives, jumped off, and the mirror came shattering down after. Brilliance. I just love working with all boys  men!
And secondly, I went to have one of the guys take belly pictures and my camera was completely DEAD. Either myself or Brad left it on last time we used it. Who knows. So, here are a couple of (CRAP quality) u/s photos because I had to take them with my phone.

Oh yeah, we got the creepy alien pictures. Haha, He tried for like 5 minutes to get a good profile picture but she was NOT having it.
I’ll try to get Brad to take a belly picture tonight and retake some of these u/s photos to post later.

4 thoughts on “Hump Day Bump Day: 20 Weeks! (Plus 1 day!)

Leave a Reply

