Hump Day Bump Day: 17 Weeks!

Your Baby: Week 17



Baby’s skeleton is hardening, changing from rubbery cartilage to bone, and fat is finally accumulating around it. The umbilical cord is getting thicker and stronger, and those little fingers and toes are now topped by one-of-a-kind prints.
Your baby weighs 5 ounces now, and she’s around 5 inches long from head to bottom. She can move her joints, and her sweat glands are starting to develop. 

This past week has gone by relatively smooth. I have been quite tired by the end of the day and unfortunately have not gotten my camera out once since last weeks belly pic! This past Saturday we went out to our town’s Softball tournament to cheer for some friends of ours and boy was it HOT! I think being in the heat and the sun completely zapped me because Sunday I barely got out of bed and Monday I still wasn’t feeling 100%. I think maybe between Sunday and Monday combined I got about half a days worth of calories in. It was not good. My scale says I’m down 2.5 lbs, urgh, I feel like a Yo-Yo this pregnancy! I feel fine for a while, and then I get sick, I gain a couple lbs, I lose a couple lbs. It is never ending!

How Far Along: 17 Weeks
Total Weight Gain: My scale now says +1.5 but as of a week ago at the Dr. I was plus 4 (P.S. I trust my scale as the morning of my Dr.’s appointment it said I was up 4.2)
Maternity Clothes: I throw a couple of maternity shirt in here and there so I don’t stretch my normal shirts. By the end of the day my fat pants usually get unbuttoned but in the morning they are falling off, strange!
Sleep: Not too great this week, I’m thinking about buying a maternity pillow, any suggestions?
Best Moment This Week: The movement is getting SO much stronger, I have a ninja in there! And Ella has been so sweet and cuddly this week, it’s awesome.
Movement: Getting stronger and more consistent every day! I even got to play with the baby a bit this week when it would poke back at me, awesome!
Food Cravings: Breakfast foods & Chinese (Which I think I’ve convinced Brad that we should splurge on this evening for dinner!), and Sushi! Bring on the sodium! Haha
Gender: Who knows? We find out 3 weeks and 1 hour from right now!! Haha!
Labor Signs: Nope
Belly Button, In or Out: A wide innie
What I miss: Not much, if this is going to be our last baby then I am enjoying EVERY second of this.
What I’m Looking Forward To: The gender u/s and Brad & Ella being able to feel some of this movement.
Weekly Wisdom: Don’t take a single second of pregnancy for granted!

And on to the Belly Pics!

One thought on “Hump Day Bump Day: 17 Weeks!

Leave a Reply

