*Operation: Lose The Lard*

Alright, I’m going to woman up and put it ALL out there, before I lose motivation.
When Brad and I met WAY back in June of 2001 I was a string bean of an 18 year old, weighing in at a whopping 120 lbs.
When we got married in October of 2006, I was 10 days away from turning 24 and weighed in at about 140 lbs.
When we went to our first Dr.’s appointment while pregnant with Ella in June of 2009; I weighed 155 lbs.
Now, today Ella turned 14 months old, and the old saying is “9 Months on, 9 Months off” Well, thanks to the stomach flu right before Thanksgiving, that held true for me, I lost 11 lbs in 12 hours and have now stayed at my pre-pregnancy weight of 155 ever since.
Anyone in the world Any normal girl knows that even though you can get back to the same weight, things don’t always end up looking like they did before the baby.
Therefore, I am initiating “Operation: Lose The Lard”, catchy, eh?
I am going to give full disclosure on my weight loss/toning journey and I need people to hold me accountable!
My tools:

Walk Slim, only $10 At Wal mart and comes with a resistance band.

 And my super ghetto eliptical machine which I had the guys move down to my office.
Water, trying to drink 90 oz a day, at the least!
Now, if you’re scared of pasty white chubbiness, I reccomend that you stop reading here, happy with the knowledge that I’m trying to get in shape. Otherwise, I did say full disclosure, so here are some “Before” pics, as well as measurements. Not for the faint of heart!

Blah!
Now for measurements:
Bust: 38 1/2″
Waist: 34″
Stomach: 41 1/2″
Hips: 43 1/2″
Thigh (Singular): 24 1/4″
Upper Arm: 12″
Starting Weight on 4/2/11: 155.4 lbs
OUCH That hurt!!!
I’m going to set small weight loss goals for myself and give myself a little (non edible) treat when I reach it. Like, going to a movie, or a pedicure. Hopefully doing this in small doses will make it easier to succeed!
Plus, whenever we decide to go for baby #2, I will be in a routine and hopefully will not gain another 40 lbs during pregnancy!

My Plan of attack:
Wednesday-Saturday are my work days, so I plan to bike 2.5 – 3 miles a day while at work.
Saturday nights – Tuesdays, I plan on doing the full 4 mile workout on my Walk Slim DVD, AND on nice days Ella and I will be going for walks, long walks!
Brad and I spoke last summer about getting a jogging stroller so that walks up here would be more comfortable for Ella so that is still on our plate of something to think about.
Now, I will try to post updates on Saturday mornings, through April 23rd. Then the resort closes and my days of switch to Fri-Sun so I might post on either Mondays or Thursdays, I’m not sure yet. And I will take new pictures and measurements once a month, close to the 1st of the month depending on where the days fall!
Wish me luck and PLEASE leave any motivational words that you have! Anything that I left out, or any questions? Leave a comment and I will address it!

2 thoughts on “*Operation: Lose The Lard*

  1. Rachel: YOU CAN DO IT!! As you've seen I have started to run and it is all about the motivators around me!! So count me in to help you get to your goal! I'm only in it for two weeks and what I can share is that getting started has been the hardest step so far. Two weeks in, I have a physical, not just mental, need to do what I want to do whether it is running or yoga. So just keep telling yourself that you will get through it. There is a hump in the beginning and I am sure there are many more to come. I am proud of you for getting healthy! Also, other advice would be to stick to a light soup and salad for lunches. That was the fastest way I lost my baby weight before even working out. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. You can do it! I've been off and on the wagon so many times it's sick… but i HAVE to get back on it too! (I too want to be smaller this time around too for a pragnancy). I'm here cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

