Bluegrass, swimming, and some Mommy time!

So, I left my camera at home today, of course. Unfortunately this post will therefor not have any pictures. I will get some up in the next day or so to accompany this post.
On Sunday we took Ella up to her first Bluegrass show at the Mishawaka Amp. up in Ft. Collins. It was a gorgeous small venue up along the Poudre river in the Poudre canyon. It was just a bunch of local bands that were playing but we had a good time, Ella had a good time and was so well behaved. After the show we drove home a less direct route and went to Estes Park and then through Rocky Mountain National park over Trailridge Rd. to get home. It was nice to find out that after dark you can go through the park for free (I mean, you can’t see anything anyway!) but for the down side, it was dark! That road is scary enough to drive in the day light, won’t be doing that again!
The next morning we all went up and went to breakfast with the idea of going out as a family for Ella’s first swim! Well, after breakfast Brad wasn’t feeling too well so it was just myself and Ella who ended up swimming, some friends of ours were there so I just had Brad drop me off and we got a ride home from them. At first, Ella was scared to death of swimming, I don’t know if it was the noise (inside pool seeing as how we’re in the Mountains.) or what but she was crying so hard. She stopped crying after a while but was just clinging to me the whole time. After about 30 minutes I was able to pull her claws out of my skin make some eye contact with her and let her know it was okay. After that she was still pretty unsure of it, but wasn’t crying continuously. Believe it or not, the only time she actually fully relaxed was when her back was in the water with my hands under her head and butt, she almost fell asleep that way! I was shocked that she wasn’t really a fan because this kid LOVES bath time. I’d like to keep taking her once a week so that she’ll get used to it and start to enjoy it.
And now for Mommy time! I get to go out tonight with other grown up women to go see Eclipse! Woo Hoo! Ella has been going to bed by 6:30 the last couple nights (and sleeping through the night, to boot!) and the movie starts at 7. So, daddy is going to stay home so that I can go to the movie. Even if she doesn’t go to sleep by the time I’m being picked up at 6:45, she is getting a little better at taking a bottle so Brad has that option with some milk that I have stored.
Speaking of milk storage, Ella is going to have to go to Daycare in November, I have got to start pumping so this kid can have breast milk while she’s there! I hate the cow feeling though! Blah!
Anyway, I will try to get some pictures added in to this post tomorrow so you can see Ella and Brad at the concert. And tomorrow is In The Photo Friday so I have to have Brad take some pictures of Ella and I. I said something to him about the possibility of him just grabbing the camera and getting better about taking candids of Ella and I, so far no luck.
Oh well, back to work. It’s been a CRAZY week, I’m sure I’ll get in to that at some point!

Now, I wish I had some photos of Ella & Me from this day, but, I don’t.
Leave a Reply

