She’s here!

After a ridiculously hard labor process Ella has finally made her arrival in to the world! After I posted last 4 hours later I was dilated to 5 cm, and then I completely stopped progressing. At 5 am they started me on 2 units of Pitocin, less then 10 minutes later my room was full of people. Her heart rate had drastically dropped ans stayed down for 3 minutes, if it had gotten to 6-7 minutes they would have had to do an emergency c-section and I would have had to be put under and Brad couldn’t have been there. So, they stopped the Pitocin and the Dr. came in at about 7:30. He said that with how intense and close together my contracions were I was in danger of my uterus rupturing. We had the option to try starting the pitocin again where we knew the risks or just going in for a c-section. So, we decided to just go for the c-section and be safe rather then sorry.
So, after 30 hours of labor it ended in a c-section. Ella arrived at 8:59 AM on February 2nd, she weighed in at 7 lbs 11 oz and was 20 3/4″ long. She has a FULL head of hair and is just adorable! Here are some of our favorite pictures so far!
Here she is at about 5 minutes old, eyes open and alert:

Here is Brad holding her once we got back to our L&D room, she was about an hour and a half old:
Here I am able to actually hold her for the first time without people around:
And here she’s sleeping once we got to our recovery room, she’s about 4 hours old here:
In about 10 minutes I have to get an antibiotic to help me from getting and infection at my incision. It’s cool, the stitches are all internal and they just glued the outside, you can’t even really see it. I am just now starting to be able to feel a little bit of pain at the incision site so it’s probably about time to ask for a pain reliever of some sort.
Any way, there’s my update. I’ll update more when we have more time.
4 thoughts on “She’s here!

  1. Congrats! She's adorable. Worth every minute of labor. Hope you have a quick recovery and I look forward to hearing about the first days at home. So much fun!!Kara W – former WP ski bum

Leave a Reply

