Birth Plan

So, I just created this birth plan online, can anyone think of anything else that I have mentioned I would like that I need to add in?
 
Our Wishes for Childbirth – Rachel E. Hawkins

Due Date: 01/31/2010
Patient of Colorado Midwives
Scheduled to deliver at PSLMC

01/09/2010

I understand that things have to change sometimes, but these are my wishes for how I would like birth to go.

Sincerely,
Rachel Hawkins

Labor

  • I would like to be free to walk around during labor.
  • I wish to be able to move around and change position at will throughout labor.
  • I would like to be able to have fluids by mouth throughout the first stage of labor.
  • I will be bringing my own music to play during labor.
  • I do not want an IV unless I become dehydrated.

Monitoring

  • I do not wish to have continuous fetal monitoring unless it is required by the condition of My Daughter.
  • I do not want an internal monitor unless My Daughter has shown some sign of distress.

Labor Augmentation/Induction

  • If labor is not progressing, I would like to have the amniotic membrane ruptured before other methods are used to augment labor.
  • I would prefer to be allowed to try changing position and other natural methods (walking, nipple stimulation) before Pitocin is administered.

Anesthesia/Pain Medication

  • I realize that many pain medications exist. I’ll ask for them if I need them.

Cesarean

  • Unless absolutely necessary, I would like to avoid a Cesarean.
  • I would like My Husband present at all times if My Daughter requires a Cesarean delivery.

Episiotomy

  • I would prefer not to have an episiotomy unless absolutely required for My Daughters  safety.
  • I am hoping to protect the perineum. I am practicing ahead of time by squatting, doing Kegel exercises and perineal massage.
  • I would appreciate guidance in when to push and when to stop pushing so the perineum can stretch.
  • If possible, I would like to use perineal massage to help avoid the need for an episiotomy.
  • I would like a local anesthetic to repair a tear or an episiotomy.

Delivery

  • I would like to be allowed to choose the position in which I give birth, including squatting.
  • I would like My Husband and/or nurses to support me and my legs as necessary during the pushing stage.
  • I would like a mirror available so I can see My Daughters head when it crowns.
  • Even if I am fully dilated, and assuming My Daughter is not in distress, I would like to try to wait until I feel the urge to push before beginning the pushing phase.
  • I would like to have My Daughter placed on my stomach/chest immediately after delivery.

Immediately After Delivery

  • I would like to have My Husband cut the cord.
  • I would prefer that the umbilical cord stop pulsating before it is clamped/cut.
  • I would like to hold My Daughter while I deliver the placenta and any tissue repairs are made.
  • I would like to have My Daughter evaluated and bathed in my presence, if at all possible.
  • If My Daughter must be taken from me to receive medical treatment, My Husband or some other person I designate will accompany her at all times.
  • After the birth, I would prefer to be given a few moments of privacy to urinate on my own before being catheterized.

Postpartum

  • Unless required for health reasons, I do not wish to be separated from my baby.
  • I would like to have My Daughter “room in” and be with me at all times.

Breastfeeding

  • I plan to breastfeed My Daughter and would like to begin nursing very shortly after birth.
  • Unless medically necessary, I do not wish to have any bottles given to My Daughter (including glucose water or plain water).
  • I would like to meet with a lactation consultant.

Photo/Video

  • I would like to take still photographs during labor and the birth.
  • I would like to make a videorecording of labor and/or the birth.

Other

  • My support person(s) is/are my Husband and I would like them to be present during labor and/or delivery.
One thought on “Birth Plan

  1. I used the same site to generate a birth plan and when I printed it out it was almost 4 pages long! So what I suggest is taking all of your statements and combine the ones that are similar or related and turn all the bullet points into quick incomplete sentences. Doctors don't want to read a novel, but you need to get your wishes across. I just gave my BP to our OB and he loved it. It was just under 2 pages. Something to think about is if you want them to give you pitocin to expell the placenta and shrink your ute. Breast-feeding, if you plan to do that, will help and from what I have heard, unless you say something to the nurse about it they will just automatically give you the drug. Everything else looks great!

Leave a Reply

