36 Weeks and bed rest sucks!

I really cannot wait until Tuesday. I actually have hopes that go either way, although bed rest is extremely boring I feel quite relaxed although very bored. I plan on packing my bags either tonight or tomorrow so that they’ll be ready to go. Which means I need to do a load of laundry and get everything ready. I also need to figure out what is going to be most comfortable to wear home from the hospital.
I feel like Ella has dropped, I know on Thursday they said that her head was engaged and now in the past couple days, after some uncomfortable pressure down below, I can breathe easier. I don’t think my belly really looks like it has dropped but I definitely am not taking as many deep breaths nor do I feel like I am suffocating at times. I’m hoping on Tuesday they’ll do an internal (who says that?!) and that I will at least have started dialating. My dream is to be at least 4 or 5 centimeters dialated before heading to the hospital so that I can be in the transitional stage on the way down and it will be too late for drugs by the time I get there so that I won’t be bothered with people asking me about them constantly. =)
There isn’t really much exciting to talk about this week. With not going to work I’ve been able to sleep a little better and my back doesn’t hurt at the end of the day. I haven’t had the need to stand under a scalding hot shower for 20+ minutes just so that I could lay down without pain. Those two factors are quite nice.
Before bed rest started on Friday I actually got most of the shopping done that I wanted to on Thursday after the appointment. I forgot about a couple things but I was still in shock over the whole idea of high blood pressure and bed rest.
How far along? 36 weeks! 1 more week and I’m full term!
Total weight gain/loss: +39 lbs, how depressing!

Maternity clothes? Oh yes
stretch marks? Oh yes
Sleep: Better this week.
Best moment this week: It’s now January, we get to meet our little girl this month!
Movement: All the time still. Maybe slowing down a little but not much.
Food cravings: Nothing, I’ve cut out the apple juice, hopefully we’ll see my weight gain slow down with that.
Gender: A little girl!
Labor Signs: I had some period like cramping on New Years Day, it lasted about half an hour or so.
Belly Button in or out? Still half and half.
What I miss: Being able to leave my house, hahaha.
What I am looking forward to: Meeting Ella, hopefully sooner then later if I have to stay on bed rest. At this point I’m not thinking we’ll make it to the due date anyway. (Now that I’ve jinxed myself she’ll be 2 weeks late, haha.
Weekly Wisdom: Don’t get stressed out!

Milestones: I’m only a week away from full term! Hang in there for one more week Ella, then you can come whenever you want!
And the websites say:
Your baby is gaining about an ounce a day. She now weighs almost 6 pounds (like a crenshaw melon) and is more than 18 1/2 inches long. She’s shedding most of the downy hair that covered her body, as well as the vernix caseosa, the waxy substance that protected her skin during her nine-month amniotic bath. Next week, your baby will be considered full-term. Most likely she’s in a head-down position, but if she isn’t, your practitioner may suggest scheduling an external cephalic version, where she’ll try to turn your baby by manipulating her from the outside of your belly. (Ella’s head is locked and loaded where it should be!) Baby’s skin is getting smooth and soft, her gums are rigid, her liver and kidneys are in working order, and her circulation and immune system are basically good to go. Her lungs are the only organs that still need to fully mature, but every day she gets a little closer to breathing on her own.

And pictures, like I said, I don’t really think I look like I’ve dropped but I feel like I have:
 
 
And, here is a picture of my hand, not too sure how well you can see the bruise but it was a lot darker in person!
Okay, I hope everyone has a great week, I’ll update at some point on Tuesday and let you know how everything is going! Or if something amazingly exciting happens tomorrow. Haha
One thought on “36 Weeks and bed rest sucks!

  1. Awww yay! I'm really excited for you and Brad. I will continue to pray for a healthy baby Hawkins and as little stress as possible for your delivery. I'll be thinking of you. Luv you.

Leave a Reply

