35/35

What does 35/35 mean, you ask? Quite interesting really, in the pregnancy world it means that I am currently 35 weeks pregnant with only 35 days to go until my due date. Funny how that works out huh?
Yesterday I went ahead and ordered the extra pages that I wanted to have our baby book complete through 5 years of age. I can’t wait until they get here so I can put them in where I want them. And included in that order was a more in depth section for pregnancy. Thank goodness I have this blog so that I can look back and remember things to put in her book. I’ve also heard from people to have a date book for after she’s born so that I can make little notes on it of things that I want to remember to add to her book, so thankfully I just got a gorgeous date book from my mom for Christmas.
I have my next midwife appointment on Thursday and then after that I’m going to take some of my Christmas money and go buy the rest of the things that I need for my hospital bag and some other baby stuff. Plus I’d like to buy a small CD player so I can have music in the birthing suite. There’s so many things to think about for the bag. Like they say to bring night gowns, I don’t own any night gowns. So I asked my friend Alicia what this was about and she said she wished she had listened. She only brought PJ pants and tops with her and pants we the MOST uncomfortable thing. So, night gowns it is. I guess those will go nicely with the mesh underwear they give you that I’m told is a god send. Haha. Someone also told me to bring some sour lollipops with me. Since I know I don’t want the epi I hopefully won’t have to have an IV so it’ll be easier to get dehydrated, sour lollipops help you to produce more saliva to help combat the dehydration. Who thinks of these things?! Whoever does, I’m glad they told me. So, sour lollipops and night gowns are definitely on my shopping list. Anyone else have any little known secrets they would like to share?
Heartburn is my worst enemy lately. I feel like I could spit fire 90% of the day. Well Rachel, what did you eat to cause the heartburn? Oh, even water, WATER, will do it now. It’s quite exhausting, I recently found a stash of tums that Brad keeps up in his locker so I don’t have to try to remember to bring them with me from home.
After my appointment on the 31st I’ll start going weekly. So after I know what time my appointment will be on the 7th I’m going to call the spa in Denver and try to get my appointment for my prenatal massage set up for that afternoon. I cannot wait, I am so excited about that. And I wish that the people Brad ordered my necklace from would e-mail him back with a specific date about when it will no longer be back ordered. They just tell him he’ll get it in January of 2010. Way to be vague people.
I was talking to a girl online the other day who had just done a 6 week child birth class. Something they brought up that she thought was strange, they told all of the mothers not to cross their legs. It closes off your pelvis and it is harder for the child to engage properly. Has anyone else heard this? I guess it kind of makes sense but I had never heard that before. I keep my legs crossed 99% of the time normally so I keep catching myself and am really trying hard not to. I’ll ask my midwife on Thursday, but in the mean time I’m actually TRYING to sit as un-lady like as possible. Haha, good thing my lower half resides under a desk most of the day. =)
How far along? 35 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: I was up 31 lbs about 2 1/2 weeks ago. I’ll find out the new number on Thursday, not looking forward to this as I now have a double chin! Urgh!
Maternity clothes? Yup
stretch marks? Still there, I think the additions have come to a halt though.
Sleep: Good and bad, it depends on the night.
Best moment this week: Well, it was Christmas. =)
Movement: All. The. Time.
Food cravings: Still apple juice, I’m telling myself that tomorrow is the last of it though. It’s just empty calories that aren’t helping to slow the weight gain.
Gender: A little princess.
Labor Signs: None so far, I wonder when they’ll start doing internals (if at all, I’ve heard the midwives don’t really like to check. Don’t want to get your hopes up) so I can see if my body is progressing at all. I would LOVE to be one of those women that is progressed to about 4 or 5 cm before they even start active labor. =)
Belly Button in or out? Still a half & half-er
What I miss: My waist!
What I am looking forward to: Meeting our little girl, it’s going to be such an amazing day!
Weekly Wisdom: Never leave the tums too far behind. Haha
Milestones: Only 35 days left until our due date!
And from the websites:
Your baby doesn’t have much room to maneuver now that she’s over 18 inches long and tips the scales at 5 1/4 pounds (pick up a honeydew melon). Because it’s so snug in your womb, she isn’t likely to be doing somersaults anymore, but the number of times she kicks should remain about the same. Her kidneys are fully developed now, and her liver can process some waste products. Most of her basic physical development is now complete — she’ll spend the next few weeks putting on weight. From now on, baby’s growth is mostly in the plumping up department — though she won’t get much longer, she’ll put on a pound or more of baby fat before birth. (He’s about 15 percent right now and will be about 30 percent by full-term.) Her hearing is totally developed (tip: baby responds best to higher pitches).
And for the weekly photos side to side first:

And from the front:
Alright, I suppose that’s all for this week. I’ll post after my appointment & shopping spree on Thursday. I’m so excited to have most of the stuff for the baby purchased after then. And I still have to tackle putting together the Pack N Play and organizing her room again from all of our shower gifts and her Christmas presents. Time to get a move on. =)
I hope everyone has a great week!
2 thoughts on “35/35

  1. I'm not sure about this, but you might want to give it a try:When I was horribly ill (couldn't get off the couch for MONTHS!), my doctor FORBADE ME to drink water because it sits in your system too long- typically why weightloss professionals will tell you to drink a glass before you eat, as it makes you feel more full. Having anything in my system made me very sick; basically I envied people who could eat crackers. Instead of the water, I was told to drink gatorade and other sports drinks that are high in electrolytes and, thus, move through your system faster. Since heartburn is often brought on by your stomach being too full, you might want to try the sports drink option. It should flow through your system more quickly and hopefully won't encourage the heartburn because of that. It was a life saver for me with the nausea and maybe it would work for the heartburn too. It's sort of the same idea. Good luck!OH! And I'm told that popsicles are a life saver during labor. In case you'd like to have something flavored to munch. It could be a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

