34 Weeks and a To-Do list

I’ve been at work since 5:30 this morning so I apologize if this post rambles a little or just plain doesn’t make too much sense. Since more of the mountain is opening the parents of our co-worker and good friend, Jeremy, who died in October, were able to come up and do a memorial service for him up here. I didn’t get to go up for it but Brad said it was extremely hard, they wanted to spread his ashes here on the mountain where he loved to be, so they had each of his friends grab a handful and ski to a place where they had gone together or that they knew he loved to scatter their handful. A lot of the guys came back to the shop still crying or quite shaken up. I just hope that this gave them all a little more closure. I know I myself keep expecting him to walk through the doors any day now like nothing happened.
I know I say something to this affect in every weekly post, but I just cannot believe how fast the time is going. I’m only 3 weeks away from being considered “Full Term”, CRAZY!
Nothing super exciting happened this week that I haven’t talked about already. I got all of my Christmas gifts wrapped and mailed off, a little later then normal but I was just happy I was done with it. We did our Babies R Us trip which I enjoyed thoroughly, now I’m trying to talk Brad into a dinner and a movie date night, the Blindside is playing up here. Yes, I’ve already seen it but I LOVE sports movies in general and this was just a great movie and I would love to see it again. We’ll see how that goes, he doesn’t seem too thrilled with the idea of seeing it but I already guarenteed him that he would like it 1000 times better then New Moon.
I feel like we still have so much to do and such a short time to do it in. Here is my Left To DO list, or at least what I can think of off the top of my head.
1. Call the insurance company to get my Short Term Disability lined out.
2. Call pediatrician to see if they want to have a visit before she’s here and to ask questions.
3. Call Registration at the hospital and make sure they got my forms!
4. Assemble the Pack N Play.
5. Assemble the Stroller.
6. Install the Car Seat.
7. Make appointment to have Car Seat Installation checked by the fire department.
8. Pack bags for hospital
9. Buy necessary items still needed for hospital bags.
10. Stock up on Diapers, Wipes, ointments.
11. Assemble the co-sleeper.
I think that’s all that needs to be done. I’m sure I’ll be adding to the list as I think of things. I plan on calling the pediatrician and the insurance company on Tuesday, so I’ll be able to cross those off the list soon I hope.
How far along? 34 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 31 lbs as of a week and a half ago. I’ll find out the new number on the 31st.
Maternity clothes? Yup
stretch marks? Yup, no new ones this week but the bottom half of my tummy still looks like a Zebra.
Sleep: It goes back and forth.
Best moment this week: Feeling her press her little foot into my hand yesterday was AMAZING, Brad getting to feel the hiccups, our shopping trip was fun, getting the swing put together, getting a box full of cookies from Shelly (thanks!), and I ordered our baby book, oh AND my back pain decreasing immensely. Can’t wait to get it, hopefully Monday or Tuesday. Haha, it was a pretty good week.
Movement: All the time, we have a little dancing queen. (“Play Momma Mia!”) Haha, sorry, that might not make sense to some of you, but I just have to say, my Niece is AWESOME. Haha
Food cravings: Apples and Apple Juice (though I’m going to try and cut out the apple juice. I think I can blame that for some of the weight gain) and Almonds.
Gender: A little girl.
Labor Signs: Nope, don’t need those for a few more weeks still.
Belly Button in or out? Top half is a full fledged outtie, the bottom half is still hanging on for dear life.
What I miss:I still miss being able to bend over like a skinny girl, I miss being able to roll over at night without waking myself up. Haha, but in all seriousness and most of all, I miss my wedding band. My fingers have started swelling a little and they don’t fit any more. I miss them! 
What I am looking forward to: Meeting our little girl and seeing the look on Brads face when she makes her appearance in this world.
Weekly Wisdom: Don’t take your energy for granted, it’s very easy to over do it at this stage in pregnancy, and oh, your body lets you know it.
Milestones: 34 weeks, amazing. Only 3 weeks away from full term and only 6 weeks away from our due date (Ella, please feel free to come any day except for January 23rd! Thank You!)
And the websites say:
Your baby now weighs about 4 3/4 pounds (like your average cantaloupe) and is almost 18 inches long. Her fat layers — which she’ll need to regulate her body temperature once she’s born — are filling her out, making her rounder. Her skin is also smoother than ever. Her central nervous system is maturing and her lungs are continuing to mature as well. If you’ve been nervous about preterm labor, you’ll be happy to know that babies born between 34 and 37 weeks who have no other health problems generally do fine. They may need a short stay in the neonatal nursery and may have a few short-term health issues, but in the long run, they usually do as well as full-term babies. Baby can recognize and react to simple songs…time to start practicing your lullabies! In fact, baby will recognize frequently sung tunes after birth and probably find them soothing. Less cute news: She now urinates about one pint per day. Get the diapers ready! (*It’s on the list of things to do! Haha)

And now for fun I thought I would do a fun Comparison, here is my belly at 14 weeks:

As compared to 24 weeks:
As compared to this week, at 34 weeks:
Wow have I rounded out, hahaha! And now for the rest of the weekly pictures. =)
And from the front:
And from the top:
So, that’s all for now. I’ll probably post when I get my baby book so I can put up some pictures! I can’t wait, or when something exciting happens. Otherwise I hope everyone has a great week!
Leave a Reply

