24 Weeks & Viability

Yay for Viability! If something were to happen (lord forbid) and Ella were born early she is now at viability so Dr.’s would do everything in their power to save her. Let’s hope she stays in there for another 16 weeks though. =)
I do believe that we have a future gymnast or dancer in there though, the last 2 days it feels like its been dance party USA in there. Yesterday it wasn’t really specific kicks or punches it was rolls and summersaults and just movement. Today was the same thing until about half an hour ago, she has either flipped and her head is on the left or she’s really trying to build some upper arm strength because my right side has been taking a beating. I can’t help but laugh about it while I’m on the phone at work, people must think I’m nuts.
Yesterday was our 3 year anniversary, it was great. We didn’t really do anything too much since we both had to work but we did go out to dinner. By the end of the day Brad was telling people at work that it was our 62nd anniversary (It started at 3rd, went to 12th, somehow got to 26th, and all of a sudden we were at 62 years of wedded bliss.) so I had to let everyone know that it only felt that long because it was Brad I was married too. =) We decided to forgoe getting a gift for each other this year and we’re going to buy a nice Glider for the nursery that we can both use and it will hopefully make those late night feedings a little nicer.
For my birthday next week I told Brad that all that I wanted was for him to get the nursery painted while I was out of town. I can’t wait to see it when I get back! Then since that will be done I’ll get started with the pink border work that I want done on it. And we still need to get that bed moved out of there, blah.
I’m so excited to be going home! In less than a week I’ll be at home, hopefully no snow to be seen. I just need prayers that I pass my 1 hour glucose test on Monday. I don’t want to be in limbo while I’m at home, or worse, fail the 1 hour and not be able to eat cake at my baby shower (lord forbid!) until I can get back and take my 3 hour test.
And I’m also hoping that all the sugar in the glucola doesn’t make Ella too active and we can get some better pictures from the u/s this time.
And so far so good after the flu shot. My arm was a little sore yesterday and my head was a little foggy but now the arm is completely healed (Yay, it didn’t fall off!) and I feel a little sluggish today but by no means sick. :::knock on wood:::
How far along? 24 Weeks
Total weight gain/loss: I was +8lbs at 20 weeks, I’ll find out Monday where I’m at now.
Maternity clothes? Yep, very comfy.
stretch marks? Still just the 2
Sleep: Okay, still waking up at the weirdest hours of the morning and not being able to go back to sleep. When I am asleep though I’m dead to the world.
Best moment this week: Our anniversary, and the dance party going on inside.
Movement: Oh yes, it’s so much fun to just sit there or lay there and feel her move.
Food cravings: Sweets, which is unfortunate since it’s so readily available at halloween time but I’m trying to stay away, and I’m still addicted to Orange Juice.
Gender: Girl!
Labor Signs: Nope!
Belly Button in or out? I think that my belly button is eating itself. But still in.
What I miss: Sleeping on my tummy, and sushi.
What I am looking forward to: Going home! My birthday, my baby shower, and of Course my u/s on Monday!
Weekly Wisdom: I need to get on it with my maternity leave since I have to go through CIGNA.
Milestones: Viability! And 3 years of marriage!
And here’s what the websites have to say about Ella this week.
Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts her at just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and her taste buds are continuing to develop. Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help her air sacs inflate once she hits the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon. Your baby’s lungs are working hard so they can survive on their own at birth. You may be surprised to notice that your baby responds to the sound of your voice or even the touch of your hand on your tummy by quieting down or occasionally increasing activity as a way of communicating with you! Wondering what (and who) your baby will look like? If you had a baby cam at 24 weeks pregnant, you’d almost be able to tell by now. That beautiful face (though still tiny) is almost fully formed. What’s still missing from the picture is the fat that will be piled on under baby’s skin. Until those fat deposits are made, that very tender skin is still very transparent, which means a close look would let you see clear through to all the organs, bones, and blood vessels. Fortunately, that see-through look won’t last much longer. Babies at this stage of fetal development are gaining about six ounces each week — with much of that gain coming from fat, in addition to growing organs, bones, and muscle.
What’s been playing on your little rocker’s stereo system these days? All kinds of sounds can be heard by your baby in your womb: from air exhaling from your lungs (deep breath now), those gastric gurgles produced by your stomach and intestines, your voice and your partner’s (which your baby will be able to recognize at birth), and even very loud sounds such as honking horns, barking dogs, or a wailing fire truck.
And now for some belly pictures!
Here’s the side view: (Please excuse the dirty mirrow, I’ll have to bring some Windex to work!)

And the view from the front:
Dirty Dirty Mirror!
So I’ll update either sometime late Monday or early Tuesday. Our computer is away from home being un-virused (yes again, I want my $160 back from the first time!) so I don’t know if I’ll be able to update when we get home on Monday or from work on Tuesday with all of my appointment update. And then I should be able to update on Thursday as normal, just differne scenery in the background since I won’t be at work! Woo Hoo!
One thought on “24 Weeks & Viability

Leave a Reply

