20 Weeks

It’s been tough getting a chance to sit down and do the blog this week. At work I’ve been out of my office every day and then when we get home our internet hasn’t been working. It’s been quite frustrating.
I cannot believe that we’re half way through. 20 weeks, that is insane, and we’re now a little less then 48 hours away from ::::fingers crossed:::: finding out the gender of the baby. Everyone think cooperative thoughts on Monday morning. We don’t need the baby to be shy and keep his or her legs crossed.
There isn’t really a whole lot interesting to update on as I have worked EVERY day since we’ve gotten back from Utah. I’ve been on overtime since I clocked in this morning, which is great for the wallet not great with my ever depleteing energy. I did go to my Dr.’s appointment on Tuesday and all I have to say is thank goodness for this rash or you would have had one VERY pissed off pregnant lady on Monday. I got to the appointment (after having to come in for a meeting on my day off) and had to wait for about 40 minutes before I actually got in to see the midwife. I don’t know what the nurse was thinking but she had me get undressed from the waist down ( to look at a rash? ) and so there I sat in all my sheet covered glory waiting for the midwife. When she finally came in she looked at the rash and had NO clue what it was. Well it could be a food allergy, or it could be something I picked up hiking with Sara and then just got worse when we went camping last week. They had no clue, so Cortizone 10 is helping a little bit but it still hasn’t completely gone away.  But then when I was leaving I told the receptionist that I’d see her Monday and she gets this confused look on her face and was like “You’re in on Monday” so I was like “Sure am, it’s my 20 week u/s” so she wanted to look. She looks and when he computer crashed 3 weeks ago and she was putting my appointments in and said “Don’t worry, I’ll re-boot this and put your 2nd appointment right in”, well she didn’t. So she says “Well, I don’t have you in for an ultrasound, all I have you in for is a 9 AM appointment with the midwife, no u/s” so I whipped out my handy dandy “reminder” card that SHE filled out and said “Oh, so when you wrote down that I had 2 appointments, 1 @ 9 and 1 @ 9:30 you were just kidding?” Not very nice I know but I was not a happy camper. So she now has us scheduled for a midwife appointment at 9 and a u/s at 10 which means a full half hour of waiting around in the waiting room looking for Waldo in one of those dumb books, UGH! Rant over. I think god gave me this rash so that we could get our appointment on Monday and I wouldn’t go to jail for murder. =)
Now on to more exciting things. =)


How far along? 20 weeks 2 days


Total weight gain/loss: +7 lbs as of Tuesday
Maternity clothes? I have turned to maternity pants, they are still a little loose but not bad.
stretch marks? The same
Sleep: Not bad, weird vivid dreams though.
Best moment this week: honestly watching Brad play with Kasen last night, it was like watching 2 – 1 1/2 year olds not just one, it was adorable.
Movement: Yep, still not very strong, but i think I might have felt my first kicks. Lucy decided to be affectionate the other day and came to lay on my stomach, a couple minutes later I felt this weird movement aimed right where Lucy was laying. Too bad she couldn’t feel it yet.
Food cravings: MEAT! Any kind of meat but chicken, the thought of chicken turns my stomach.
Gender: I’m still thinking Boy, we’ll find out in 47 hours!!! (God willing)
Labor Signs: None yet
Belly Button in or out? Still very in
What I miss: Sleeping on my tummy.
What I am looking forward to: Our ultrasound on Monday morning
Weekly Wisdom: I’m not feeling very wise this week. Haha
Milestones: 20 weeks! Half way done!


All about the baby this week:
Your baby weighs about 10 1/2 ounces now. S/he’s also around 6 1/2 inches long from head to bottom and about 10 inches from head to heel β€” the length of a banana. (For the first 20 weeks, when a baby’s legs are curled up against his torso and hard to measure, measurements are taken from the top of his head to his bottom β€” the “crown to rump” measurement. After 20 weeks, s/he’s measured from head to toe.)


S/he’s swallowing more these days, which is good practice for the digestive system. And, these days, those taste buds actually work! Studies show that after birth, babies respond best to tastes they’ve already had via amniotic fluid. Meaning, think about what you’d like your future child to eat as you prepare your own lunch.
S/he’s also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in the bowels, and you’ll see it in his first soiled diaper (some babies pass meconium in the womb or during delivery).
Is it a boy cantaloupe or a girl cantaloupe? You’ll be able to find out your baby’s gender via the ultrasound by this point. If you’re carrying a girl fetus, her uterus is fully formed this week and her vaginal canal is starting its development (which means that in about twenty-five or thirty-some-odd years, she could be just where you’re at, Grandma!). She also has primitive eggs in her tiny little ovaries now, seven million of them β€” though by the time she’s born, that number will be down to two million (still more than she could ever hope to use). And interestingly, your baby girl will be born with all the eggs she’ll ever have.
Have you got male? If your fetus is a boy, his testicles have begun their descent this week, though they’re still located in the abdomen, waiting for the scrotum to finish growing so they’ll have a place to drop into in a few weeks.
And now for pictures:
I seem to have rounded out quite a bit this week, or maybe that’s the maternity pants?

And the view from the front:
So stay tuned until Monday night and I will post the exciting news of a Little Ella or a Little Brayden!
One thought on “20 Weeks

Leave a Reply

