19 weeks

What an exhausting trip! We got up bright and early on Tuesday morning and headed towards Utah. After a couple stops for food and gas, and 7 1/2 hours of driving, we got to our hotel to check in at just after 3. Brad went in to get us all situated only to learn that the concert had been CANCELED mid-morning as Dave Matthews had lost his voice. I was so sad. Not the thing you expect to hear from the front desk agent at a hotel. So, Tuesday night we just hung around the hotel, everyone but me got drunk and I called it a night at about 11 while the others were out until about midnight or so. The next morning we woke up at the un-godly hour of 7 AM for no reason, headed to Cracker Barrel (YUM!) and then headed south to go caving & camping. We decided to go find a camp site before the caving since it was a 3 hour excursion and we didn’t want to lose a good site in the mean time. So after we got camp set up we found out that there was a charge to get into the cave even though we had paid our park admission fee on the way in. So we decided we’d just do some other sight seeing instead. So of our 2 things that had been the whole reason for the trip we did neither! 1. Dave Matthews Band CANCELED! 2. Caving Too pricey. Haha, what a great trip.
But we did head over to Bridal Veil Falls, gorgeous. And then to cascade springs, also gorgeous and we got to do some camping so we made the most of it. I didn’t get much sleeping while camping (a little over an hour tops, HA!) but it’s my goal to more then make up for it in the next few days.
My rash from a couple weeks ago is still sticking around unfortunately, so I called and made an appointment with my midwife for this coming Tuesday. So hopefully 1 of 2 things will happen, 1. the rash will realize that I have made an appointment to destroy it, get scared and go away on its own. Or 2. The midwife will atleast be able to tell me what it is (hopefully not PUPPPS) and help me to get rid of it. I hate being itchy all the time. In other itchy news, my belly is getting quite itchy which means it is growing, yay for pregnant belly!


How far along? 19 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: 6 lbs total as of last appointment.
Maternity clothes? Not yet, but I have started keeping my pants unbuttoned and just using a hair tie so as not to flash people. =)
stretch marks? Still the same, 1 on each side of my stomach
Sleep: Depends on the night
Best moment this week: Brads amazement at finding out that “Did you know the baby has to eat, like, every four hours?!” Haha, he was shocked.
Movement: Yep, still just the fluttery feelings but getting to be more often. Cannot wait for defined kicks and punches (I know, I’m a masochist!)
Food cravings: Not really anything odd, I just want what I want, when I want it.
Gender: Now starting to feel girl, so who the heck knows! We will in 10 days!
Labor Signs: Nope, thank you very much.
Belly Button in or out? Still in
What I miss: I love bing pregnant right now, so I don’t really miss much. It’s all for a good cause!
What I am looking forward to: Finding out gender, working on the nursery, getting rid of this rash, Brads every 4 hour feedings, haha, and watching him change a diaper. Cannot wait!
Weekly Wisdom: Enjoy every minute!
Milestones: I’m 19 weeks, almost half way through! Crazy!


Baby’s now the size of a mango!
Six inches long this week and about eight ounces in weight, your baby is the size of a large mango.


Your little action figure is able to choreograph Matrix-like moves at 19 weeks pregnant. Arms and legs are finally in proportion, neurons are now connected between the brain and muscles, and cartilage throughout the body is turning to bone. All these upgrades combine to give your baby more control over limb movements. Which explains all that kicking, stretching, and bodysurfing (or rather bellysurfing) you’ve possibly started feeling by now.
Something else going on this week: Your baby is getting a cheesy varnish. Say what? Yup β€” a protective substance called vernix caseosa (vernix is the Latin word for varnish; caseosa is cheese) now covers your baby’s skin. It’s greasy and white and is made up of lanugo (that downy hair), oil from your baby’s glands, and dead skin cells. This waxy “cheese” may not sound too appetizing or attractive, but it’s there for good reason: Vernix protects your baby’s sensitive skin from the surrounding amniotic fluid. Without it, your baby would look very wrinkled at birth (sort of what you’d look like if you soaked in a bath for nine months). Some babies β€” especially those born early β€” will still be covered with vernix at the delivery, so you might get a look at your baby’s first anti-wrinkle cream.
The hair on his/her scalp is sprouting. This is a crucial time for sensory development: Your baby’s brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. Some research suggests that s/he may be able to hear your voice now, so don’t be shy about reading aloud, taking to him/her, or singing a happy tune if the mood strikes you.


Here are some photos from the places we went this weekend:

This one above is Bridal Veil Falls, the pictures do not do it justice by any means. It is gorgeous!

Cascade Springs 1

                                                          Cascade springs 2

A view looking up from our camp site.
And now for some belly pictures. =)
The side view:
And a dead on view. Maybe I’ll take a picture next week looking down on the belly. It looks huge to me when I stand up. Haha
I’ll let everyone know how my appointment goes on Tuesday and then it will be less then a week until we find out if jr is an Ella or a Brayden! Woo hoo!
Leave a Reply

