17+ weeks

So, I dropped Nick & Sara off at the airport last night. So sad to see them go. So of course I start crying because I miss my sister already. Then I get stuck in stand still traffic from a 6 car accident and cry some more. Yes, I’m a crier and the extra hormones don’t help with that.
But all in all we had a great week. Sunday we just all kind of caught up on sleep, Tuesday we went rafting which seemed to be enjoyed by all. Wednesday and Thursday we did some driving, Wednesday we went through Rocky Mountain National Park over to Estes Park. They got to see a huge herd of Elk and a Momma Moose and her baby. Thursdays drive was over to Boulder and then over to Denver. I finally got my Sushi that night but it doesn’t seem to agree with some of the pregnancy hormones coursing through me because the next morning I was broken out in a rash and then my tongue swelled up. Not fun. On the way back from Denver we stopped at the WalMart in Evergreen and got the cutest crib set on clearance for $20. I still want my Monkey’s too, haha, but Brad liked this one when we saw it the previous Saturday so when it was on clearance less then a week later I had to get it. We went back and asked if our Crib had arrived as the very next day was the delivery date. Nope, no crib. It was worth a shot right? Well, the next morning when I woke up guess who I had an e-mail from, Walmart, and our crib was there, of course. We’ll pick it up Monday when we’re down there for our appointment. So Friday we spent the day exploring Winter Park and then we went down to a Rockies game, which was about the time I noticed my tongue swelling. Blah. The Rockies put on a miserable performance and lost 6-1 only to win last night ( of course ) 14-11.
So here is a picture of Sara and I at the resort on Monday:

This week seemed to out do me, on top of the rash and swelling of the tongue, I picked up a sinus infection along the way. At least the medicine that I take for sinus infections is safe to take during pregnancy. I’m starting to feel a little better already after only 2 days of taking it. Now if I could just breath at night.
I’m in this horrible limbo stage of pregnancy. I no longer feel sick ( thank goodness ) but it’s still a little early to feel the baby move, so for the past 3 weeks or so I’ve been in this nervous state the whole time wondering if something is wrong with the baby because not only do I not have any morning sickness but I’m not getting any bigger. Which is normal for some women to show later, it’s just a little un-nerving when you don’t know what’s going on. And anyone who knows me knows that I’m a worrying anyway. So, thankfully we go to the doctor tomorrow and they can put my mind at ease. =)


Your baby’s skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord — the lifeline to the placenta — is growing stronger and thicker. Your baby weighs 5 ounces now and is around 5 inches long from head to bottom. S/he can move his or her joints, and his or her sweat glands are starting to develop.
Your baby is almost certainly listening up by now. In fact, loud noises — the dog barking, the doorbell ringing — will actually startle your baby (and also get him or her used to such noises; for instance, fetuses who regularly hear a dog barking will become babies who sleep right through Fido’s outbursts). Your baby’s eyes (which have fortunately finished their migration to the front of his or her head) are making small side-to-side movements and can even perceive some light, though the eyelids are still sealed. And since practice makes perfect, your baby is sharpening his or her sucking and swallowing skills in preparation for that first (and second…and third) suckle at your breast or bottle. In fact, most of the survival reflexes that your baby will have at birth are being perfected in utero right now.
And here’s some proof that your baby is truly one of a kind (as if you needed any!). Within the next week or so, the pads on your baby’s fingertips and toes will become adorned with completely individual swirls and creases (aka fingerprints).

How far along? 17 Weeks

Total weight gain/loss: Not sure but I’ll find out in the morning and update on Thursday.
Maternity clothes? I bought some but they are still a little too big for now.
stretch marks? Yes, it looks like a vampire got me on each side of my hips.
Sleep: Much better this week.
Best moment this week:My sister being out here with me!
Movement: None yet that I’ve noticed. Hence the anxiety mentioned above.
Food cravings: Spinach & Cheese ravioli from the Spaghetti Factory, and I got it. =)
Gender: No clue, hopefully find out in just a couple more weeks!
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out? Still in
What I miss: A half cocked Tutti Frutti (Haha!)

What I am looking forward to: Tomorrows appointment. Knowing that everything is okay, and making our appointment for the gender scan.
Weekly Wisdom: Ummmm. . . . . .
Milestones: This much closer to finding out the gender.
Here are a couple pictures of the bedding I picked up.

And then here are some belly pics: (Please forgive the PJ pants, I’m sick remember)

Leave a Reply

